Best News Website

Unlock the full potential of your consulting company's digital presence by entering the esteemed 2024 WebAward Competition, hosted annually by the Web Marketing Association. Since its inception in 1997, the WebAwards have set the benchmark for excellence in website development across the industry, spotlighting the finest in design, innovation, and content.

The Web Marketing Association names the Best News web site of 2024 as part of the 28th annual WebAward Competition for Website Development. Since 1997, the WebAwards are recognized as the premier industry-based Website Award program in the world.

Here is your chance to stand out from your News competitors and win the recognition you deserve while receiving valuable independent feedback on your Web development efforts.

2023 Best News Site
Will your site be next?

Why Enter?


Since its inception in 1997, the WebAwards have set the benchmark for excellence in News websites.


Receive detailed evaluations from web development experts.


Boost your online presence and SEO with links from the WebAward site.


Win a prestigious Best News Website award and enhance your marketing and promotional efforts.

Best News websites are selected by industry expert judges who review the entered websites using the seven criteria below:

Ease of use
Use of technology

As a participant, you will receive

An independent evaluation of your News Website by independent expert judges
Valuable feedback to help Benchmark your efforts against other News industry websites

If your News site wins recognition in the 2024 WebAwards, you will also get:

A great marketing opportunity to promote your site to the media
A limited-edition NFT to recognize your achievement
Links to your site from the highly ranked WebAward site to help SEO
Marketing Images to post on social networks like Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn
The admiration of peers, friends and co-workers – maybe even a raise!
A personal achievement for your resume
The ability to purchase a statue, trophy, plaque or certificate to display your achievement.

Each year the Web Marketing Association's WebAward Competition names the Best News web site. Best websites are selected by judging the entered websites using seven criteria - design, ease of use, copywriting, interactivity, use of technology, innovation and content. Websites not selected as best News website are also eligible for an Outstanding Website Award or a Standard of Excellence Award.

Setting News Trends and Making News News

Entering the WebAwards can help keep you up on News Trends by showing you how other News websites compare to the WebAward standards. You can make News industry news if you have the Best News website. News industry newsletters, publiciations and websites will want to cover your win bringing you additional visibility and accolades within your industry.

Stay up to date with the all the Web Marketing Association Award programs and join our mailing list. You can also follow us on Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter.

The 2024 Call for Entries is open! This is your opportunity
to win the recognition you deserve

Entering is easy. Simply create a new free Nominator Account or log into an existing Nominator Account. Enter information about your site and the judges do the rest.
Don’t wait enter your website today and win the recognition you deserve!

You might have the next Best News Web site waiting to be recognized!

Here are the past Best News WebAward winners:

Year Winner Site Name
2023 NewsBreak
2021 Hong Kong Trade Development Council NewsBites
2020 Vital Zone Coverage
2018 OpenRoad Communications UBC News Redesign
2017 Perspective-Media LTD The Perspective
2014 NBC Learn NBC Learn K-12
2013 N24 Digital N24
2013 Mindgruve U-T San Diego
2012 Scholastic Inc. Scholastic News Kids Press Corps
2011 ADT Online Marketing Team Home Security Source Website Redesign
2010 NBC Learn NBC News Archives On Demand
2010 The Cincinnati Enquirer Cincinnati.Com
2009 BusinessWeek Business Exchange
2009 NavigationArts Charlotte Observer
2008 NBC News iCue
2007 Slate Magazine Slate Magazine
2007 Forward Association TheJewishDailyForward.Com
2006 Avenue A | Razorfish
2005 BusinessWeek Online BusinessWeek Online
2004 CNET staff CNET
2004 Jim Woodward Christian Science Monitor
2003 The Wall Street Journal Online

*some URLs may no longer be valid, especially for older WebAward winners.